Volkswagen e-Golf Forum

It is currently Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:25 pm
Posts: 6
Was wondering if breaker trip problems might occur? Can chargers be adjusted to deliver fewer than rated amps?

30A, 220V is what I already have run to a detached garage - would like to avoid upgrading if possible.

Thanks for any info....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:52 pm 
Online

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 1:18 pm
Posts: 439
Not a good idea to pull 30 amps on a 30 amp circuit. Trying to burn down the house? You probably should consult a licensed electrician. To my knowledge, you should not pull more than 80% of the circuit rating. If you only have a 30 amps circuit, don't pull more than 24 amps. If you can set the EVSE to 24 amps, that's what you should do. Otherwise, install an EVSE rated at 24 amps.

_________________
2017 e-Golf LE, Multi Coat White with Black Vegan Leather interior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:25 pm
Posts: 6
f1geek wrote:
Not a good idea to pull 30 amps on a 30 amp circuit. Trying to burn down the house? You probably should consult a licensed electrician. To my knowledge, you should not pull more than 80% of the circuit rating. If you only have a 30 amps circuit, don't pull more than 24 amps. If you can set the EVSE to 24 amps, that's what you should do. Otherwise, install an EVSE rated at 24 amps.


I doubt the house would burn down - more likely the breaker would trip, maybe after a delay. You may well be right in saying no more than 80% should be drawn (on a continuous basis I would suppose) so there is some allowance for start-up surge current (if that applies to these EVSE devices). I note that the advertised 30A units call for a 40A circuit.

Would still like to know however if the 30Aers can be adjusted lower (to maybe 24A as you suggest). In any case, looks like a 220V, 20A unit would be maybe 3 times faster than a L1(?).

Edit: Just noticed that 24A units are available so that looks like the way to go alright.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 8:14 am
Posts: 97
NoSmoke wrote:
f1geek wrote:
Not a good idea to pull 30 amps on a 30 amp circuit. Trying to burn down the house? You probably should consult a licensed electrician. To my knowledge, you should not pull more than 80% of the circuit rating. If you only have a 30 amps circuit, don't pull more than 24 amps. If you can set the EVSE to 24 amps, that's what you should do. Otherwise, install an EVSE rated at 24 amps.


I doubt the house would burn down - more likely the breaker would trip, maybe after a delay. You may well be right in saying no more than 80% should be drawn (on a continuous basis I would suppose) so there is some allowance for start-up surge current (if that applies to these EVSE devices). I note that the advertised 30A units call for a 40A circuit.

Would still like to know however if the 30Aers can be adjusted lower (to maybe 24A as you suggest). In any case, looks like a 220V, 20A unit would be maybe 3 times faster than a L1(?).

Edit: Just noticed that 24A units are available so that looks like the way to go alright.


Check out openevse - I run my unit at 24A on a 30A circuit. It is adjustable and the kit is repairable/replaceable, in case anything should break - unlike most commercial units where if it stops working out of warranty you're pretty much buying a whole new one.

Been using it for years now, very happy.

_________________
2019 BMW i3 120ah
2015 eGolf SEL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 2:24 am
Posts: 834
Location: SoCal
NoSmoke wrote:
Would still like to know however if the 30Aers can be adjusted lower (to maybe 24A as you suggest).


Some can, some cannot. Ones that I know have such adjustments are the Siemens and the GE DuraStation. These have physical jumpers in the case so it can’t be accidentally reset to the higher amperage.

There are a few others (I believe OpenEVSE is one) that is set via software, but considering how programming can go wonky in any device, I would feel much more comfortable with the above hardware-based solution.

_________________
2015 eGolf SEL (originally leased, bought out lease)
former EV: 2012 Nissan Leaf SV (lease returned)
Range Extender: 2017 VW Golf Alltrack S 4Motion


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:01 pm
Posts: 2329
The emotorwerks 40 amp unit I have is adjustable. You do have to pull the cover off, and go inside to turn it down. Then you have to verify the amount of current it flows, before you button it back up together.

I'd think it better to future proof your residence, run a dedicated 50 amp circuit breaker and EVSE line only, so that in the future, if your main panel can handle it, you can run a 40 amp EVSE unit on your 50 amp dedicated circuit. Circuits are rated max of 80% of breaker capacity.

_________________
2015 e-Golf SEL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:25 pm
Posts: 6
Thank you folks - I think my questions have been answered.

All I have to do now is buy an EV. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:32 pm
Posts: 641
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Remember of course that the e-Golf, like most EVs, will let you set a max amps on the car itself. However, the downside of doing that you'll have to manually set it back to max current any time you visit a true 30a changer, say at a public L2 charging spot, and this may get annoying if you're charging away from home often.

_________________
2016 e-Golf SE in Urano Grey leased 8/1/2016 for $1500 down + $50 x 24 months * Purchased 7/31/2018 * ChargePoint Home 32a (wired)
2018 BMW i3s REx in Mineral Gray purchased 6/12/2018 w/ Giga, Tech, Parking, CarPlay, Harmon Kardons, and of course Moonroof


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:25 pm
Posts: 6
Also good to know - thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Run a 30A rated L2 charger on a 30A circuit?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:19 pm
Posts: 289
I think a 30A (or 32A) unit needs to be on a 40A cable and breaker. We have our 40A (JuiceBox Pro 40) on a 50A circuit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
© Volkswagen e-Golf Forum - part of the MyElectricCarForums.com Group