What’s a “good” miles/kWh?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 1485

So I only have a slight idea what I’m doing driving an EV, and my dash is telling me 4.6 mi/kWh so far (600 miles). Miles wise I’m probably pretty close to even city/highway. Is that good? Bad? Like I said I’m new to this so I’m still learning all the tips and tricks.

That's pretty good. The rough rule of thumb is 4 mi/kWh Hightail and 5 mi/kWh city

Biggest thing to remember is those numbers don't take in to account climate control. The A/C tends to knock those numbers down 5-10%. The heat is even worse, especially in the models without heat pump. On cold winter days I'll often get 3.5 mi/kWh on mixed city/highway driving.

johnnylingo said:
That's pretty good. The rough rule of thumb is 4 mi/kWh Hightail and 5 mi/kWh city

Biggest thing to remember is those numbers don't take in to account climate control. The A/C tends to knock those numbers down 5-10%. The heat is even worse, especially in the models without heat pump. On cold winter days I'll often get 3.5 mi/kWh on mixed city/highway driving.

This is my experience as well. Depending on season and where you love you can expect those number to drop .5 M in the winter and go up .5 in the summer.

As a certain retired southern Californian on the forum will point out, you can average 6 m/kWh if you stay below 45, never drive up more than a 3 degree incline, live in a moderate climate, have a light tailwind, and never use the HVAC. But he's right 6mpkWh is doable and helps by keeping a lower cycle count on your battery.

Cool, thanks! I don't want to get too crazy with maximizing my MPE (miles per electrons? haha), as part of the reason I picked the e-Golf is because it is still fun to drive. But good to know I'm heading down the right path, so to speak.

See you all out on the roads!