Buying a 2016 e-Golf SE

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sean333

I'm considering buying a used 2016 e-Golf SE - the dealer prices in my area vary from about $11,000 to $13,000 depending upon mileage. I'm new to all electric cars. Is there anything in particular I should be concerned about?? For example I've heard about battery degradation - is this an issue for these cars. I'm looking in particular at a car thats got 40,000 miles on it - should I have concerns about the battery??

Thanks for any responses.

A car with 40K miles will have some battery degradation. How much depends on how often it was L3 charged (if equipped), depth of discharge, ambient temperatures where it was driven (since the e-Golf only has passive cooling), etc. Only real way to check the state of health of the battery is through a dealer diagnosis or via an OBD2 dongle such as OBDEleven.

I just bought a 2016 egolf se and its great. Ive been geeking out on charging techniques to minimize battery degradation(not sure if it will help but plan on owning it for a long time hopefully). Any advice on purchasing a 6 year extended warranty for covering the electrical system for 2k? seems reasonable...

What do you expect to fail? I expect the electrical system to be pretty reliable. Also, you might want to check the details of the included warranty to see if what you expect to fail isn't already covered by the included warranty.

i'm following this thread closely as I'm also looking at a '16 SE.
I live in a hilly area near S. VT. What would a comfortable range be with snow tires on a 10 deg. F day. I have a pass at a ski area about 13 miles away. Can I expect no range issues for a round trip there on a 90% charge?
Thanks.

TBS said:
i'm following this thread closely as I'm also looking at a '16 SE.